Playoff picks

It’s that time of year when everyone makes their playoff picks, so I’ll throw in mine. Some will look smart in a few weeks, some will look stupid (one of the blogs I read regularly picked every series wrong last year, which is a very useful skill to have, just as useful as getting them all right). Me, since I’m really picking largely at random, I’m just doing it for fun. So here goes:

ALDS: Angels over Red Sox. Just so the Rangers can at least say they lost the division to the team who won it all. Okay, so they lost it by 19 games, but still, the principle is there.

ALDS: Indians over Yankees. Just cos I hate the Yankees.

NLDS: D’Backs over Cubs. Cos I want to hear another year of whining from Cubs fans.

NLDS: Phillies over Rockies. The Rockies have been stunning down the stretch, but I think this last game (wish I’d been able to see any of it, thanks MLB) is simply going to take all the wind out of their sails. Come on, giving up two in the top of the 13th, then scoring three in the bottom? What was the win expectancy in that? (8%, if I’m reading right).

ALCS: Angels over Indians. See above about the Angels.

NLCS: D’Backs over Phillies. I’ve never liked the Phillies.

World Series: Angels over D’Backs. The AL is going to win, whoever their representative is.

Okay, there’s my ballot filled out. Let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

